Aura – IL

Meet Aura

Breed: Australian Shepherd

Description: blue merle aussie - beautiful, active girl

Gender: Female

Weight: 40 lbs.

Age: 1 years 4 months

Spayed / Neutered: Yes

House Trained? yes

Crate Trained? yes

General Training? basic obedience +

Good with Children? no

Good with Other Dogs? yes

Good with Cats? yes

Location / Contact

Residence: In home with foster or owner

City: Mount Olive

State: Illinois

Contact Name: Speak! St. Louis

Email: applications@speakstlouis.com

Web Listing: Click Here

Application Link: Click Here

Click Here if you have an update
for this dog listing.

You Can Make A Difference in a Deaf Dog's Life!


Please consider making a donation to help dogs like Aura,
100% of donations go directly to helping deaf dogs and their owners.

Support A Deaf Dog

enter your donation amount below
$
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.
Billing Details

Donation Total: $20.00

Hi there! I’m Aura! I am an 1-year adoptable def old female Australian shepherd who is looking for a loving family and forever home. My foster parents say that I am a little girl with a BIG funny personality.

Speaking of personality, I sometimes do things a tad differently than my foster siblings. For example, when my foster siblings go outside to play they run around in all different directions. I, on the other hand, have a certain path I like to follow…..but I still play with my foster siblings.  If I get overly excited inside, I may run in circles.  My foster mom is a trainer so she helps redirect me so I don’t run in circles. She gets out a special mat when I’m overly excited and I go lie down on it and receive treats!  The mat helps me relax when there is a lot going on around me.  I also take some medicine to help me focus. Foster mom puts 1 pill in with my meals and I gobble it up. (She thinks she’s sneaky!) She wants you to know that my medicine doesn’t cost much and they get it from a nearby pharmacy.

I should also inform you that I am deaf due to merle-to-merle (color pattern) breeding. I have learned a lot of commands including:  sit, lie down, wait before going outside, and wait before eating my food.  I am potty trained but my foster parents think I have an odd way of notifying them when I need to do my business.  I guess most dogs go to the door and whine…. not me, I run around the house barking.

There’s one more thing that makes me unique.  I really not fond of being cuddled.  I am, afterall, an independent girl.  I prefer to sniff new people to say hello and then walk away. Once in a while, I like to walk up and get a good butt scratchin’, but it doesn’t take long before I’m off doing my own thing again. My foster parents love this about me because I don’t jump on their guests.  I tolerate baths and getting brushed but they aren’t my favorite thing to do. I know I may seem like a handful, but I want to be open and honest to my future family.

I would like my forever home to have a fenced yard and no children under the age of 12 (since they may try to cuddle me). I’m pretty interested in cat so if my forever home has some, they should probably be able to go to a safe place out of my reach.  I also wouldn’t mind another doggy friend to play with and follow.

I am spayed, microchipped and up-to-date on all my shots. I also need monthly preventatives for fleas, ticks and heartworms.  My foster parents say that my forever home should be willing to stick to my training program and appreciate me – my quirkiness and all!  If you’d like to meet me, you can apply here:  https://www.speakstlouis.com/forms/adoption-application/

2018-11-15T15:14:32+00:00